RSS

Fear Is Not An Option

27 Oct

Fear of man will prove to be a snare, but whoever trusts in the Lord is kept safe. Proverbs 29:25

I remember having a run-in for 3 weeks with a bully in my middle school, because he tried to cheat off of me and I wouldn’t let him.  He got caught and for 3 weeks he made my life horrible.  He breathed threats of how he was going to beat me up.  For 3 weeks, Day after day I lived in mortal fear of what he might do, he always talked about how he could beat me up. He rode my bus so I tried to always get on the bus last, so I didn’t have to sit near him. He lived in our apartment complex, so I always tried to run home everyday. Every day, I found myself making decisions based on what I thought the bully might do if I bumped into him. Then one day, I got tired of basing what I would do on where someone else might be, what someone else might do, or how someone else mighty act. I decided that I was going to do what I wanted to because I wanted to.  I decided that I was going to confront his criticism and his threats.  That day I found out three things: 1) most bullies have big mouths but they have weak jaws, 2) I had spent two weeks afraid of something that I could have dealt with day one, and 3) I had the best yo’ momma jokes in my middle school… I mean jokes so good it made him wimper and retreat!!

The truth is many people waste their lives living in fear. They never do the things that they are supposed to do, or become who they are supposed to be because they have allowed what they think might happen to be more real than what is actually going on. Many times we allow ourselves to fall into the trap of thinking that fear will provide safety. However, the only thing fear really provides is a trap in and of itself. The fact of the matter is there is not much that a person can really do to you, but you can do a lot to yourself living in fear of what they may do.   Matthew 10:28 teaches us not to fear people but to only fear God.  In essence, fear can cause you to talk yourself out of hopes, dreams and a full life based on what someone else may say, do or think.

Today, break free!  Say it, “I am Free from Fear! Fearing people is no more than a trap that the enemy uses to keep you in place. The bigger the bullies that he puts in your life, the bigger the destiny he is trying to keep you from.  Just remember the story of David and Goliath. The truth of the matter is, when you stand up to the people who are trying to keep you in place, you realize that you are much bigger than the place they are trying yo keep you in. Today step out on faith and trust in God. Trusting in the Lord will allow you to see that what has been holding you back is not strong enough to hold you down. When you step beyond your fears, the Lord steps in to keep you safe. So today walk away from fear, and walk in your faith. That will make the difference between hiding from bullies and making bullies have to hide from you.  So put your fists up and fight, because FEAR is not an option!

Fear Is Not An Option,
Pastor Derrick Phillips

Prayer:
Father, I pray for every person that reads today.  We rebuke the spirit of fear, as your word teaches, You have not given us a spirit of fear but of power, love, and of a sound mind!  No give us the power to confront whatever bully is standing in our way.  Whether it’s depression, anxiety, or stress, we will no longer retreat in fear.  We praise for the power to not only confront our bullies but to conquer!  In Jesus’ Name. Amen!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 27, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
